Home Forums General Discussion Artificial eye drops

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    SS
    Participant

Hi everybody:

I have been using minocin for the last 14 years and have MCTD.
    I am in remission now and using artificial tears forSS syndrome.
    The brand that I was using is not available any more tried some of them but has burning in the eyes.
    Can any one recommend a brand that you are using so that I can try.
    Thanks
    Regards
    SS

sandrabonfield
    Participant

Hello SS
    I am using drops called optive. I use it several times a day
    sandra

JohnnyMax
    Participant

@SS wrote:

Hi everybody:

I have been using minocin for the last 14 years and have MCTD.
    I am in remission now and using artificial tears forSS syndrome.
    The brand that I was using is not available any more tried some of them but has burning in the eyes.
    Can any one recommend a brand that you are using so that I can try.
    Thanks
    Regards
    SS

Hi SS,

I also have Sjogren’s, though in remission at the moment. My doc had recommended I use the single use type, Refresh Plus, that comes in vials, they do not have preservatives, so are less likely to cause issues like burning. I have not used them in a while or any drops, but they worked pretty well at the time.

What supplements are you using to help out tear production? There are some that can be very helpful, also specific hormones can greatly influence both saliva and tear production, have you looked into hormone replacements? Eye drops are just to get you by, but you have to address the gland destruction.

John

SS
    Participant

Hi John:
    Thank you for the information and I will use the specific brand you have mentioned.
    By the way you have mentioned that the sjogren’s is in remission.
    I am really interested to know what therapy was it that put you in remission.
    Please let me know and you have also mentioned about HRT. Let me know about that also.