Home Forums General Discussion Why does Minocin work better than generic minocycline?

Tagged: 

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    TrustingGod
    Participant

After 22 years, my insurance will no longer pay for Minocin. I have found some generics to be less effective. Do we know why Minocin brand works better than the generic?

TrustingGod
    Participant

So in reading past posts, it appears that pelletized generics are better than generics with powder. Why is that? Is it because it is some form of sustained release formulation? Is it potency? If it is due to a sustained release formulation, why not take minocycline ER or doxy ER?

vinny
    Participant

I have been using Minocycline since 2008. Powder filled capsules do not work for me, but generic tablets do work for me. I use a brand called Minoz from India that works very well for me. The price is reasonable

Psoriatic Arthritis: 100mg Minoz Minocycline TABLET daily; twice daily 400mg Pentoxifylline;125mcg Levotyroxine: Have been using some level of Minocycline since 2008

cosmo
    Participant

I started AP therapy 13 months ago. I take pelletized 100mg mino 3 times a week. My last blood work just came back. All my markers for RA are now in the normal range. I also follow a low lectin diet and feel better than I have in years.

Maz
    Keymaster

That sounds like remission, cosmo – way to go! Are you ready to write your remission Story for the site?

SS
    Participant

Hi Vinny:
    You have mentioned Minoz from India works better for you please let me know which company it is.
    I want to try it also so please let me know.
    Thanks for the post
    Regards
    s

vinny
    Participant

I buy Minoz 100mg Minocycline tablets from alldaychemist.com They are made by Sun Pharmaceuticals

Psoriatic Arthritis: 100mg Minoz Minocycline TABLET daily; twice daily 400mg Pentoxifylline;125mcg Levotyroxine: Have been using some level of Minocycline since 2008

SS
    Participant