Home Forums General Discussion Tetracycline Dosage and pulsed vs daily?

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    hhcarson
    Participant

I am new to AP and was able to find a doctor on the list who is open to this treatment within a couple of hours drive. I have had RA for 17 years and have been on several different drugs over the years. Most recently for the last few years I was on Orencia. I came to know about Dr Brown and the approach made sense. It always worried me to be on a drug that supresses my immune system without getting to the root cause. I was so excited about my first appointment that I forgot which questions to ask that I now would like to know the answers to.

I was concerned about turning blue (call me vain) so she prescribed me Tetracycline 500mg twice a day which I later realized was higher than Dr Brown’s dosage. Also, she recommended it daily which concerns me. She also prescribed 3 mg naltrexone. I took that for a couple of days and decided I needed to start at a lower dose and work my way up so I started at 1.5 and I’m now at 2. She prescribed thyroid medication and hydroxychloriquine. I have not taken the hydroxychloroquine because I was concerned about taking so many drugs at once and taxing my liver. Does anyone have experience with these dosages and medications?

Maz
    Keymaster

Hi hhcarson,

Yes, I have personal experience of these meds. Sounds like you’ve got yourself a very holistic doc there who is helping you with more than just AP! I currently see an integrative rheumy and have always preferred this multi-pronged approach.