Home Forums General Discussion Taking Celebrex?? Advice please!

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    bsnyder
    Participant

Initially, I had AP for five years the last three of which I was on AP. I TOTALLY recovered and was pain and I thought arthritis-free for five years. Unfortunately I stopped taking the AP due to my skin starting to get dark patches (I have since learned from Dr. S that I could have tried Doxy at that point to deal with the dark patches) and the arthritis returned. I have been fighting it for the past three years, the last two years taking 100mg Mino 2X daily. Was in a continual herx, then about a month ago decided to go back to the previous dose that had worked for me years ago – 100 mg Mino MWF. Dr. S also added Zithro T/Sat. I also went to Ida Grove and had the IV AP.

Here’s my question which hopefully some of you successful old-timers can answer. For the past two years I have been trying to manage the pain and swelling myself with 800 mg ibuprofin 2-3 times a day which really didn’t work all that well. I did this since the first go round with arthritis in which I went to a reumatologist and went through MANY different heavy duty drugs with NO success in the long term so I was afraid to go back to a Reumy.

My knees swelled up like baseballs a few months ago after having a crown replaced over an old, stinky root canal. I had to do something about the knee swelling so my primary care doc referred me to an orthopedic PA who drained my knees (yea!) and gave my Celebrex. I LOVE the Celebrex as it helps me feel like I have NO pain, but I am also afraid of it.