Home Forums General Discussion Prednisone while on Mino

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 68 total)
  • Author
    jasregadoo

I’m new to AP, about 1 month in. 2 weeks ago I had a birthday party to attend, and decided to take some prednisone to help myself with energy and pain. I’ve been taking a small dose daily or sometimes every other day since. I checked with my doctor, and she said I can take 5mg daily if I want to. My rx is for 2.5 mg, and I’m thinking I’d rather take 2.5mg either every day or every other day.

I want to avoid the side effects of prednisone, but I’m hoping I could do this for just the next month or so, and since it’s a small dose, hopefull it won’t counteract anything else I’m doing.

I’m also taking sulfasalazine 150mg 2x a day
    Minocycline 100mg MWF
    Aleve 2x a day, 1 tablet each

Does anyone have experience with prednisone while starting out on AP? I don’t feel like I NEED it…I was off of it for a couple of months. But the days when I do take it are easier than when I don’t.

Thanks so much,

J

MEmily
    Participant

I take prednisolone, but only when I have a flare up so that things calm down. I take minocin 5x wk, 100mg. When I do take prednisolone, I take 30mg a day for one week, and then I stop. By then, the flare is normally gone. I also take methotrexate once a week. I was diagnosed with RA about a year ago, and my rheumatologist says it’s about as nasty as she’s ever seen. She says the prednisolone does not interfere with the mtx, and she’s pretty sure that it shouldn’t obstruct an antibiotic, but it sounds like you’re taking yours in a completely different way than I do.

I’ve been taking mino for almost 9months: 3x wk for about 8 of those months now and only recently went to 5x wk. I keep waiting for it to help me out the way it’s helped other people, but it varies so much from person to person, it’s hard to compare.

jasregadoo