Home Forums General Discussion Polimyositis

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    relleom29
    Participant

Hi. I have been dealling with Polimyositis for the past 6 years. I have done all the typical TX (prednasone, methaltrexate IGIV ect.). They are now calling my condition Inclusion Body Myositis. I have heard that some people have been using tetracycline and minocycline as a form of treatment for people like me, and have been very successful. Does anyone have a name of a clinic or Physician in the Toronto Canada area that could help me….If anyone has any experoence with polimyositis please respond… Thank you…
    Erna….

June3443
    Participant

I live in the USA and can’t help with doctors and I don’t have polimyositis. I have diffused SD and I have severe muscle spasms and pain when I am not on minocycline. I have been taking it for about 3 years in total. The mino has really helped me. I am now taking doxycycline 100 mg AM and minocycline 100 mg PM.

Maybe someone with polimyositis can provide more information on their experience. Good luck in your search.

Maz
    Keymaster

Hi Erna,

To get a better idea of which type of doctor may help you best, has any doctor done an infectious diseases work-up on you? I’ve done some searching around and, like dermatomyositis and polymyositis, Inclusion Body Myositis (or IBM) has been linked to Lyme disease and other infections, such as toxoplasmosis. Interestingly, here are some doctors discussing this on a medical forum:

http://www.dreddyclinic.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=4057

If you have not been tested, then it might be a good idea to get IGeneX lab testing run. If you need help with how to go about this, I’d be happy to share further info.