Home Forums General Discussion Mycoplasma antibodies

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Participant

My daughter was diagnosed with JRA 3 years ago when she was 14.Having read The New Arthritis Breakthrough I went to the doctor and askjed them to test for Mycoplasmas.They said the only one they could test for in New Zealand is M.pneumoniae.

Got the results back yesterday and it showed antibodies to this mycoplasma.I was thrilled.But the doctor said that does not mean she has active mycoplasma so does not indicate Ap therapy would benefit.She said all it meant was that she once had pneumonia-which I don't believe she ever had.

Did the doctor do the right test-the test in the book regers to mycoplasma complement fixing reaction.

Is the doctors interpretation correct.From my reading if you show antibodies it means the mycoplasma cou;d still be in your body.

I would appreciate any advice as I am new to this.The doctor wants to go down the heavy metal track first but I think Ap therapy holds more promise.

Thanks

casey
    Participant

Hi ,

I would go ahead and find an AP doc and get started ASAP! And There are 2 antibodiy titres you could look at here. The IGG and the IGM. If the IGG is positive , it shows acute infection (previous). Well , if she has JRA, and you treat with abx, i will bet that the IGM will become positive after awhile and as treatment progresses , the IgG will start going down.

We have the same situation here with our 13 yr old son, who was showing lupus on his blood tests. I had him tested and he showed antibodies to myco pneumonaie. The doc said a previous infection will do that but doesnt mean he has lupus from mycoplasma infection. He is on abx and is showing negative now (fingers crossed he stays that way).