Home Forums General Discussion Minocycline questions (from Trillium17)

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    PhilC
    Participant

Trillium17,

Hello Vinny: I have been having flares in my hands since the Fall. I have been using doxycycline hyclate 100 mg BID for a while, manuf. identifies as “Mutual” which I looked up and find is Sun Pharmaceutical Mumbai India. but not seeing much relief. Since I have never tried minocin/minocycline before, am planning to call Dr. Monday to get an Rx. (Am on forum today because I knew I needed to know something about manufacturers before I do that and get the wrong one chosen for me.) I seem to recall being warned away from TEVA out of Israel? Is that right? I have also looked up canadadrug.com and find Minocin out of NZ for $2.33 per pill. What is best source right now price-wise.

Original location: https://www.roadback.org/forums/topic/relapsing-due-to-inability-to-lack-of-brand-minocin/page/3/#post-461668

These are the main minocycline generics most of our U.S. members have been taking:

Teva (formerly Actavis) capsules – Made in India
    Torrent (formerly Ranbaxy) capsules – Made in New Jersey
    Zydus (formerly Teva) capsules – Made in Pennsylvania

How long have you been taking doxycycline, and how long have you been taking 100 mg BID?

How long have you been taking LDN? Did you start at 3.0 mg, or did you work your way up from lower dose? The reason I ask is because LDN may be making you feel worse rather than better.

How much vitamin D are you taking? Years ago, when I was experiencing joint and muscle pain, vitamin D made me feel worse. Because of that, I used caution when supplementing with vitamin D by taking a multivitamin only once or twice a week.

Phil

"Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth."
    - Albert Einstein

Trillium17
    Participant