Home Forums General Discussion Minocycline, & Minocin, Whats the difference ?

• This topic has 7 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 16 years ago by Maz.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Nico
    Participant

Minocycline & Minocin what is the difference between these two. And do they do the same thing? I'm new to this and there's lots of words, & initials flying around, appreciate it !

Thanks 🙂 Nico

Maz
    Keymaster

[user=268]Nico[/user] wrote:

Minocycline & Minocin what is the difference between these two. And do they do the same thing?

Hi Nico,

Do you want the long or the short version of this? LOL 😉  Oh heck…might as well go the full hog!

Minocin is the “brand name” of minocycline, patent originally owned by Lederle, but sold to Wyeth Pharaceuticals, who gave distribution rights to Triax in the US and Stiefel in Canada. Brand named Minocin comes in a pea-green, two-toned capsule and the medication is pelletized. Some say the brand name is superior, because it doesn't contain fillers and the pellet form affords a slower, more controlled release into the bloodstream.  It is also believed to be less erosive to the esophagus for those suffering with scleroderma or reflux.

The downside of brand name Minocin here in the US is that Triax is a cosmetic drug company and when they got distribution rights, they began selling Minocin in zit packs for acne at an inflated, extortionate cost. When I first got a prescription for “brand only” Minocin, my insurance carrier covered less than half for 60 caps and I paid a further $500 odd. I soon learned it was much cheaper to buy Minocin from buylowdrugs.com, a Canadian online drug company, and now get Stiefel brand Minocin (exactly the same as Triax, but in a purple/orange capsule). The full cost for 100 count caps was about $115 including postage and packaging.