Home Forums General Discussion Minocin antibiotic treatment for RA

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    1-2-b-healthyagain
    Participant

Hi.  I started taking minocin for my RA for almost 2 months now.  Being that I am a nurse and was hesitant about taking the minocin, I asked a doctor from the cleveland clinic what his thoughts were regarding taking minocin for RA.  He said “absolutely not”, “don't you know that the minocin can trigger lupus?” “Don't do it!”

Now I am completely frustrated! I don't know what to do.  Has anyone who has been taking the minocin for an extended time experienced or heard of anything like this? Any information regarding this would be helpful!! Thanks!!!

Donna RA
    Participant

Hi 1 2 b healthy,

I've been on Minocin for RA for over 3 yrs, no Lupus here. 

https://www.roadback.org/index.cfm/fuseaction/education.display/display_id/187.html

There is alot of information on the home page, and the old BB board if you do a search, I'm sure you'll find posts concerning Lupus and Minocin.

Good Luck,

Donna RA/Lyme

JeffN
    Participant

Yes it is possible to develop Drug Induced Lupus (DIL) from long term mino. For more you might check this out. http://www.lupus.org/webmodules/webarticlesnet/templates/new_aboutindividualized.aspx?articleid=377&zoneid=18ug  You will note that the issue is relatively rare, for more info google Drug Induced Lupus. There are approximately 38 drugs that cause DIL and mino is one. You will note that usually when the offending drug is stopped the DIL goes away quickly. I am on mino for SD and am quite willing to take my chances. I guess I would go back and ask your Doctor friend what they would recommend for your RA and compare side effects. Sometimes I don't follow the logic, many teens are on long term mino for acne but I have, like you, been told that I should not take mino in my case for my SD. The risk of DIL is worth it for my complection but not for SD – figure that one out.