Home Forums General Discussion Is lyme hiding behind my strep? Comments?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    jelretiredmama
    Participant

Despite testing negative for lyme through our provincial labs, I did test positive for strep. Have been taking 2 pills twice daily of Penicillin VK (300mg strength) and will finish up the 10 day prescription in a few more days. Will ask my doctor when I should retest my ASO titre.

My question, since I have been reading that lyme hides behind strep, even though I have been doing AP since mid Sept 2012, is it possible now that the pencillin for strep will now possibly reveal lyme?

I go back to see my family doctor next Tuesday about my thyroid (going to try the Armour thyroid or similar) and will take the Igenex test with me just in case I decide to give that a try. Just sometimes feeling overwhelmed with all the appts and different tests.

I welcome comments.

Maz
    Keymaster

@jelretiredmama wrote:

My question, since I have been reading that lyme hides behind strep, even though I have been doing AP since mid Sept 2012, is it possible now that the pencillin for strep will now possibly reveal lyme?

Hi Jelretiredmama,

Strep certainly seems to be a tricky organism, having the capability of forming biofilm and communicating with its environment through various chemical messengers, known as quorum sensing, as described in some depth in the following article:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC281653/

Brown discussed strep at some length in the Henry Scammell book, if you have a copy. It’s worth reading and re-reading this book, as there are some really good nuggets in there. I must have read it 5 times in my first year. 😆