Home Forums General Discussion help me

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Participant

I am taking mino twice a day(200mg a day)for the last 3 weeks.  I was diagnosed with ra.  after starting to take mino my left ankle which was very slightly swollen, has swollen to the extent that even walking is difficult.  My left ankle and the other side of my left ankle is also swollen.  I am of the opinion that it gets worse then better.  I am not taking anything other than mino for this.  Any suggestion would be appreciated. 

thanks

Jennhere
    Participant

Gupta,

I'm no expert, just going on my own experience and some of what I've learned here.  Three weeks is just the beginning.  I got better right away, then two months in… had a heck of a “herx” that made me feel like my life was ending… :?… but that's not the good news!;) 

The good news is, I stuck with it (thanks in large part to the encouragement I found here) and after, say, 6 months, I could look back and see how far I'd come.  I was sooooo much better.  People here say that the recovery on mino is “glacial”.  Oh, how true.

I had a horrible, swollen knuckle for 6 months after I began to believe I was “cured”.  That knuckle was going to be the end of me.  But it suddenly went away one night.  I woke up and it was normal.  Just like that.  I was kind of ticked off.  It was so anticlimatic.  I was expecting an amputation…:D!

During the finger episode, I tried upping my mino dose.  It didn't help.  I actually felt sick on 200 daily.  So, I'd go back to my standard 100mwf regime.  I tried all sorts of things… hydrogen peroxide soaks, massages, dr appts, had xrays done…in the end, I prayed and the thing was better the next morning… JUST SAYING!!  I don't know what made it better.