Home Forums General Discussion Seeking advice for initial antibiotic dosage

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    susan bee
    Participant

Hi all. I am 33 years old, and have had RA symptoms since I was in my early 20s. In the past year my symptoms have gotten intolerable, and I was also diagnosed with palindromic rheumatism, where I experience bi-weekly painful flare-ups on certain joints. I am a chef and had to quit my job as I simply am not able to physically perform.

I have been so inspired by the stories on this website with the possibility that I might be able to heal myself without taking methotrexate and prednisone. I have been able to work with my PCP on attaining oral clindamycin and minocycline (was not able to get IV clindy) and am excited to begin.

My question for those of you who can help: I’m reading such different reports on how to begin clindy + mino, regarding dosage and timing. Should I try to imitate the IV clindy as much as possible by taking 5 days of oral clindy as such? For example, the first two days, take 300 mg, the next two days 600 mg, and the final day 900 mg? Or should I do 1200 mg all at once, say on Monday, wait until the week is over, and then begin mino? I’m also curious about beginning mino and if everyone agrees that beginning with a low pulsed dose, 100 mg M-W-F, is best?

Thanks so much in advance for your help!

Susan

Pinkmoth
    Keymaster

With the clindy, I believe the ramping is done in order to keep the person from herxing to an intolerable degree. It seems like a smart way to do it especially if you’ve had RA for a long time already (seems like you might herx).

With oral clindy, I’m always seeing in posts that it is really really hard on the stomach so I can’t imagine that ingesting 1200mg would be very tolerable. But let hope someone with more experience with doing the oral clindy chimes in.