Home Forums General Discussion New to the Road Back!

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    kater
    Participant

Hello my new friends!
    I am new to all this and have just completed my first week on AP! My name is Kate and I live in Victoria BC. I have Scleroderma which I would say is early compared to some of the stories I have read about. I got carpal tunnel and Raynaud’s a year and a half ago but the real Scleroderma symptoms just occurred at the end of May. I have been doing LOTS of alternative medicine including diet, supplements etc and my RF has dropped from 38 down to 18 so I am pleased with that. My ANA is holding at 1:640. It has taken a bit for it to sink into my bones (pit of my belly really) how serious this illness actually is so I have made the difficult decision to take a leave from work as of Dec 15 to do more intensive healing work and opening the possibility of doing the IV Clindamycin if I can even find someone to do it? I am doing oral right now, 100 mg Minocin MWF and 1200 Clindamycin on Sat. I would be willing to travel for an initial series but could not afford to do that on an ongoing basis so I need to find someone reasonably close to home. I just wrote up my SD history for Dr. S in Iowa so I will paste it below.

July 2010–suddenly developed bilateral moderate level carpal tunnel and Raynaud’s simultaneously. Raynaud’s persist but I was able to beat the carpal tunnel with gluten/dairy free diet, physio, acupuncture, and bracing

Fall and Winter 10/11–noticed fatigue and muscle weakness in upper arms and legs which I attributed to being away from the gym because of carpal tunnel

late May 2011–hands swollen, very stiff, feet very stiff in morning, skin on hands tight and shiny, skin splits on thumb, ++fatigue, upper arm and leg muscle pain and burning on one flight of stairs.

June 15/11–Saw GP and he thought I had RA. RF was 38 and ANA was 1:320. All other bloodwork is good.