Home Forums General Discussion Need some advice on lab results

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    leerobert
    Participant

Hi everyone,
    This is my first time posting. I have followed the forum off and on over the last 2 years and we have been helped many times from it. Hoping you guys can help guide me through this…. My husband was diagnosed 2 years ago with RA. It took many months of doctoring and joint swellings/pain to reach this conclusion. He had a positive anti-CCP, but his symptoms often times presented like gout and moved around his body a lot. Anyway, he started minocycline therapy 2 years ago taking it M-W-F 100 mg twice daily. He was also on meloxicam 15 mg daily at the start of his therapy. It didn’t take long before he began to notice improvement. He did herx in the beginning, but no more joint swelling after the start of the mino and by 6 months into the therapy he did not have any more pain. Great success with the antibiotic therapy! He was doing good up until August when he developed a double pneumonia and was in the hospital for 9 days. They treated him for bacterial and also fungal pneumonia. He did have a bronchoscopy which grew candida yeast. He was treated with fluconazole for 5 weeks. He followed up with pulmonologist November 6th and his CT scan was normal. She gave him a pneumonia vaccine and said she didn’t need to see him back. The week of Thanksgiving his came down with body aches and a low-grade fever for a couple days and then he got better. I was also sick at the time, so I didn’t think too much of it. He was well for about 4-5 days and came down with the same thing again, body aches (mainly lower legs) and fever, and he has had these symptoms for 2 weeks now. We have had him the doctor 3 times worried his pneumonia was back and his scan have been clear. They have checked him for influenza twice and it was negative both times. His fevers are going over 102 degrees when he gets them. Last Friday they did