Home Forums General Discussion Introduction

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    scingram
    Participant

I just wanted to say hi to everyone, and introduce myself. My name is Sarah and I am just beginning the AP. I’m glad to have a place to come for information and interaction. I made this post on my personal history, but thought I would put it here as well.

I am a 31 year old stay at home mother to 2 boys (L is 5, and R is 3) in Baltimore, MD.

In 2010 we adopted a dog who has terrible leash manners and pulled when we walked her. I attributed sore shoulders and wrists and knees to her for a few weeks before realizing something else was going on. I had also received two corticosteroid injections in my foot for Morton’s Neuroma around this time, but never thought it might be connected.

I was referred to a rheumatologist, sent out for bloodwork, and returned for results. She told me I had rheumatoid arthritis and gave me a prescription. I suspected I was pregnant so I never filled the prescription, and a week later a doctor confirmed the pregnancy. The pain wasn’t bad, but I did a little research, and saw where many women have bad flares a few weeks after giving birth. I wanted to be prepared, so I made an appointment with another rheumatologist, who seemed to take great offense to me being pregnant and thinking I had RA. He told me pregnant women CANNOT have RA and if I did have it, I would need chemotherapy, DID I UNDERSTAND?? I didn’t, but I didn’t want to cry in front of him, so I left. My husband and I agreed, maybe it was a good thing, that he was saying I didn’t have it…but there was a nagging feeling in the back of my head.