Home Forums General Discussion Diagnosed with early RA :-( Anyone know AP doc in London?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    rushnik
    Participant

Hi all,

I only registered here today so am a newbie! I am 39 years old and live in London. I work as an equity trader and have two young daughters so life is pretty stressful for me. I noticed the last few years that I felt more and more fatigues where I was losing my zest for life – forcing myself to attend social engagements rather than actively looking forward to filling my diary up (which is what I used to do!). Bed was becoming my favourite place to be after a hard day’s work but I just blamed stress. I started to get some aches in my fingers in the summer but didn’t think much about it but then noticed that my knees started hurting then ankles and toes. I detect no swelling at all, just some pain that I can feel. It was enough for me to take myself to the doctor and got referred to a Rheumy. He did some blood tests on me at end of October, RF only mildly elevated at 34 ESR only mildly elevated also but was anti-CCP negative so he said he didn’t think we were dealing with RA. He repeated the blood tests at end November, everything was the same APART from anti-CCP which had jumped from being negative to being strongly positive. Even without the presence of any swelling or the other measures high, my rheumy said he is 100% certain that I have it just based on the anti-CCP and prescribed me Methotrexate advising that I start immediately. I was left totally reeling from the diagnosis as I am sure all of you were as this seemed to really come from nowhere and even a month ago, he was sure we weren’t dealing with RA…