Home Forums Personal History and Progress Threads Another Scleroderma and Raynauds Story Starting AP Today

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    enzed
    Participant

Today I began taking Minocycline 50mg twice daily to treat stubborn Raynauds finger ulcer / Scleroderma / Crest. It’s a long story so will try keep it brief. I am a retired social worker and moved to Cairns 3 years ago to escape the harsh Kiwi weather and save my fingers from imminent amputation. The hot weather helped although I have had ulcers twice, treated with Nitrolingual [sprayed on] and Rectogesic [rubbed on]. Antibiotics previously cleared up ulcers but a current ulcer is proving stubborn. But so happy to still have fingers!

I see a rheumy 6 monthly and after reading about AP on this forum and getting valuable advice from Lyn, I asked the rheumy to prescribe AP but he wasn’t keen. He preferred I try Hydroxychloroquine Sulfate but when looked up the side effects – eye/vision damage and muscle damage, I decided not to take it. Instead I asked my GP to let me try AP and today he agreed I can try it for 6 months.

I followed the advice here to go armed with information on AP so printed out info to show my GP. He wasn’t interested in reading anything from this or other forums but was convinced by the printout of Alan Cantwell’s paper published in the Journal of Independent Medical Research. ‘Bacterial Infection as the Cause of Scleroderma: A Guide to Antibiotic Therapy’. He read it right through and said ‘I’m convinced’ and prescribed Minocycline right away.

My Herstory: